Updating address book live

If you want to stop syncing your contacts from other devices, you will need to adjust your settings on those devices or remove all contacts from Twitter.

Twitter will continue to store and use the contacts you’ve previously uploaded unless you remove all contacts.

If you receive an error message then you can investigate further (Note: Set your Outlook client to send you a delivery report on the test email as well).

Outlook 2003 (and older)* clients get their OAB from a public folder, Outlook 2007 (and newer) clients can get their OAB from ‘Web-based distribution’ (basically form the website on the Exchange (or Exchange CAS) server.

So there are three factors stopping you seeing that new user on the GAL (, however if that’s not an option, read on). Force your Outlook Client to Download the Offline Address book. Check that the OAB is getting distributed from the Exchange/CAS server. Note: Make sure the Generation Server is set to a server that exists, and it’s online.

To the right, you’ll see the details for a selected contact.

If the People app has people listed in it the very first time you launch it, then you’ve probably entered your account details in another Microsoft app.

If you are using Outlook 2003 or 2007 you may be in “Cached Mode”, and you are looking at a copy called the “Offline address book” This only gets updated Every 24 hours, and the copy on the server only gets updated every 24 hours at (by default).

In addition to this there a a few methods by which your Outlook clients get the offline address book.*Note: Unless you are NOT in cached mode.When you upload your contacts to your account, we can help you find people you may know on Twitter.Then you’ll be able to find and follow contacts who have allowed other people to find them by their email address or phone number.To learn about other ways of finding people to follow on Twitter, view this article.You can control whether Twitter will use your address book to suggest your account to others by adjusting the privacy settings that let others find you by your email address or phone number. Note: When you turn off your Sync address book contacts setting on a given device, this will stop syncing contacts to Twitter from that device only.We may also use your imported address book contacts to personalize content, such as making suggestions or showing user accounts and Tweets for you and other users.

Tags: , ,